Rep. John Otto, CPA, named to Legislative Budget Board

Today Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio) named CPA and TSCPA member John Otto (R-Dayton) to the Legislative Budget Board (LBB).  Joining Otto on the board are Reps. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo) and John Zerwas (R-Simonton).

The LBB develops budget recommendations for the appropriations process, provides fiscal analysis for proposed legislation and evaluates the efficiency and performance of state government.  The Board is co-chaired by the Speaker and the Lt. Gov. and includes four members of the House and Senate.  All three of the appointees have served as sub-committee chairs of the House Appropriations Committee.

In the press release announcing the appointments, Speaker Straus said these members "have demonstrated a deep understanding of the budget process and a proven commitment to fiscal discipline.  In the months ahead, members of the LBB will provide important guidance in the development of the 2016-17 biennial budget that will be introduced soon after the 84th Legislature convenes in January."

The appointments are to replace three LBB members who will not be returning as legislators for the 2015 session.  Straus expressed his "profound thanks" to Reps. Dan Branch (R-Dallas), Harvey Hilderbran (R-Kerrville) and Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie) for their service.




This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s