House and Senate CPA Centennial Resolutions


This Picture is of CPAs on the floor of the Texas House of Representatives.  On Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2014 both the House and Senate passed resolutions recognizing the 100th anniversary of the CPA profession in Texas.  In 1915 the 34th Texas Legislature passed the first Certified Public Accountancy Act which established the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy and later that year the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants was born.  The legislative resolutions recognized the profession and both organizations.

The House Resolution was authored by CPA and TSCPA member Rep. John Otto (R-Dayton) and co-authored by the other CPAs representatives in the House, Angie Chen Button (R-Garland), John Frullo (R-Lubbock), Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) and Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton).  CPA and TSCPA member Sen. Charles Perry, the only  CPA in the Senate, authored the Senate Resolution.

TSCPA was represented on the House and Senate floor by Chair Mark Lee and Chair-elect Allyson Baumeister; TSBPA Presiding Officer Tom Prothro and Assistant Presiding Officer Coalter Baker joined them for the presentations.

The galleries were full of cheering CPAs.  Here’s a picture of the Senate presentation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s